About Our Board

Message from the Chair

I am happy and excited to serve as the Chair for the Florida Section in 2018. I will continue to pursue the Section’s Vision of Environmental Excellence through Education and Interaction by supporting our Mission to foster exchange of scientific, technical, regulatory and legal information among environmental professionals. This Mission is accomplished with the support of all members and I encourage you to get involved or stay involved. 

Our successful Scholarship Program and Annual Conference are examples of programs that continue to support our Mission.  We also rely on our local Chapters to promote A&WMA locally and will do all that we can to encourage their activity and success. Our Students and Young Professionals are also key to our success as a Section; and I am very proud of the programs such as the Annual Student Environmental Challenge, YP Networking Events and YP Fundraisers launched in support of these members over the past few years.  Please browse our website for additional information about our programs and Chapters and feel free to contact me as floridasectionawma@gmail.com with any thoughts, suggestions or questions.

We look forward to hearing from you and seeing you at our 54th Annual Conference in Southeast Florida in 2018.



Susan Kennedy

Florida Section, Chair, Gulf Power Company


To promote environmental excellence through education and interaction


The Mission is to facilitate the exchange of technical and regulatory information among environmental professionals for the purpose of improving and/or sustaining a high quality environment in Florida, to provide education and training to our members and to the public with regard to our areas of expertise in environmental issues, and to encourage interaction of members, and further the objectives of the International A&WMA.



  • Promote information sharing
  • Grow Florida Section membership
  • Increase revenue to support new programs & scholarships
  • Energize Florida Chapters – Leadership Support
  • Encourage member involvement
  • Promote Student Chapters & YP development
  • Sponsor leadership training
  • Develop Chapter Websites

Meet the Board

Manitia Moultrie

Florida Section, Chair
Golder Associates, Principal

Christina Akly

Florida Section, Vice Chair
Florida Power & Light, Senior Environmental Specialist

Byron Burrows

Florida Section, Secretary/Treasurer
TECO Energy, Manager-Air Programs

Kaitlyn Tingum

Florida Section, Membership Chair
Florida Power & Light, Associate Environmental Specialist

Liz Foeller

Florida Section, Executive Secretary
International, Director
Waste Management, Area Manager EP – Florida

Susan Kennedy

Florida Section, Immediate Past Chair
Gulf Power Company, Sr. Env Affairs Specialist

Upasna Rai

Florida Section, Education Director
Koogler and Associates, Inc., Engineer I

Kurt Westerlund

Florida Section, Director & Website
CDM Smith, Environmental Engineer

Joe Applegate

Florida Section, Director
Geosyntec Consultants, Sr Principal Hydrogeologist

Jill Johnson

Florida Section, Director
Geosyntec Consultants, Sr Hydrogeologist

Director/Conf Chair - Mike Kennedy

Paula Cobb

Florida Section, Director
Duke Energy Florida, Florida Env. Affairs & Stakeholder Engagement Director

Julianna Duckworth

Florida Section, Director
ERM, Senior Consultant

Kevin Holbrooks

Florida Section, Director
JEA, Director Environmental Compliance

Joe Brown

Florida Section, Director
Hopping Green & Sams, P.A.

Past Board Chairs

2017-2018, Susan Kennedy

2012-2013, Stephanie Bolyard
2016-2017, Liz Foeller 2011-2012, Becky Heilman
2015-2016, Mike Markey 2010-2011, Jordan Haywood
2014-2015, Chris Spire 2009-2010, March Archer
2013-2014, Julianna Duckworth 2008-2009, Karen Mort

Get More Involved with the Board

Interested in becoming more involved in the A&WMA Florida Section or your local chapter?